And here it begins anew

I had a blog over at blogger, but some variables got out of control over there, my focus got a little militant, a little too trendy.
So I’m starting over here, lower casefiles v2.0. Below, I’m gonna dump a lot of other stuff i’ve written tonight online … I’ll sort it out when I have time.

So this is what it feels like … being back in the saddle. Dunno why I’ve done so little writing since I left college. Well, I’ve done some writing, but mostly the formulaic, reality driven prose of the newspaperman.
It’s kinda nice when I just sit down and start writing, and almost instinctively, I begin crafting a story. Below, I’ve laid a good portion of the groundwork for a story … I think.
I’ve got an image, at least. I couple of images: A voice one assumes is a detective, a DB we know is a dame, and circus folk. Just introducing circus folk expands the potential direction of this effort exponentially.
My problem is dedication. Persistence. As my mother would say, “Stick-to-itiveness.”
I’ve got a billion short scenes like that littering my harddrive, junking up my office with heavy boxes of notebooks and legal pads. Thinks I felt to be pure genius when I frantically scrawled them before the idea got stale.
And I haven’t looked at them since. I’m undertaking a new effort to write. I’ve got to treat it like a diet, or a workout regimen. NO compromise, every day, but one day off, as long as a serious load of work gets done on Saturday or Sunday (or whatever my off days end up being).
This will eventually be copied onto my blog, soon as I figure out how to get into it …damn passwords. I plan to keep the lowercasefiles open, but shift their purpose. That blog started because I wanted to be a famous blogger. Part of the Pajamas Mafia. But, as interested in politics as I am, and as frightened about the direction the world’s going as I am, I just don’t have the time to do all the things Dean Barnett listed to “get noticed” as a blogger. I’ve tried to strike up conversations with Michelle and Glenn, but they’ve got a gadzillion people trying to gin up email friendships with them everyday.
The lowercasefiles are now a place for my writing life to take shape. I’ve called myself a writer my whole life, but high school football recaps and man-on-the-street interviews just aren’t satisfying me anymore.
If someone notices me, cool. I’d hope they didn’t ridicule me after judging the quality of content unimpressive.
Muscles only grow when they are worked. My Writus Maximus is a weak, flabby girly muscle right now.
The lowercasefiles are my new weight room. Or maybe not … seems Jennifer has monkeyed with the settings over that way … I’ll just have to start a new place to keep my writing muscles toned … it’ll have to be with another web site, though, because I like my title too much.

Leave a Reply

